Five Year Later Review On Painted Kitchen Cabinets

I first painted my cabinets FIVE years ago (where does time go?!). I used Ben Moore Advance paint, which I still swear by and use for all my cabinet and furniture projects. It has a slow dry time which helps with streaks and it DOESNT require clear coat. Doesn’t really get any better than that. But back to the update…Yes it holds up AMAZING. We even had tenants in our house while overseas and they still held up.

I recently did a some upgrades to the kitchen which included hiding the hinges and making them soft close (which is life changing! and here is the link on how to do that) and while I was at it I added a fresh coat to the cabinets. Everything is painted in Benjamin Moore Advance Satin in Bright White. Down the road I might change the paint color to something more creamy but for now I love it.

HERE is the link to how I painted my cabinets

All my cabinets are the original except for the island which I built out of stock cabinets (click here for that link)

I still can’t believe the transformation my kitchen has made over the last few years. If possible keep your original cabinets! It saves sooooo much!

Below is the before picture of the kitchen for when we first moved in. I hated everything about it!!

My workspace:

My kitchen’s first makeover:

The most recent kitchen makeover which involved new floors, lighting, countertops, and backsplash:

So yes my painted cabinets have held up amazingly over the years. I ALWAYS recommend Benjamin Moore Advance paint to anyone who asks. If you are worried about painting your cabinets don’t be! They will turn out awesome!

Published by oxforddecor

Mom of two monsters just looking for five minutes of spare time for some diy

One thought on “Five Year Later Review On Painted Kitchen Cabinets

Leave a comment